The pileated woodpecker

My wife spotted this guy in Yosemite this weekend. I had never seen one before. Yay!

I’ve hear them many many times but was never able to see one. The guy was just pecking away at the tree at a slower pace than usual. This allowed me to take photos and see it. We were coming back from a hike to Mirror Lake where I photographed a peregrine falcon. I thought I was done for the day in terms of birdwatching… And then this pileated woodpecker showed up.

pileated woodpecker

2 thoughts on “The pileated woodpecker

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

