La photo du mois: ma passion (in short)

This is my twenty-eighth participation in the “photo of the month” challenge. Since this is a French-speaking group, I put the translation below. On the 15th of every month, bloggers from all over the world post a photo on a predetermined subject. This month’s topic is “He who is lost in his passion is less lost than he who has lost his passion.” In short, my passion.

Needless to say, this was a hard one. My passion is photography. How do I take a picture of my camera without ending up with a tacky photo? So I let it be for a while and went about my life. It finally hit me last week as I was going through some files on my computer. I have a genealogy file that I hadn’t touched in years because I didn’t have the proper software to open it. I bought a new copy of the software and renewed my passion with genealogy. I started genealogy when I was about 17 and was lucky enough to be able to trace it all the way back to Charlemagne on one branch. It’s nothing impressive considering 80% of the population descends from that guy. It’s just cool to know what the lineage is. I am now looking into finding that one guy who moved to the United States about 100 years ago, leaving his whole family behind. Can’t wait to figure it all out! (Everybody understood why I picked the tree, right? The picture was taken at Sunol Regional Park in the East Bay near San Francisco in July 2014).

Ceci est ma vingt-huitième participation à la photo du mois. Tous les 15 du mois, les bloggeurs de ce groupe Facebook postent une photo sur un thème bien précis. Les participants nous viennent des 5 continents… Le thème de ce mois est: Celui qui se perd dans sa passion perd moins que celui qui perd sa passion.

C’était très difficile ce mois-ci. My passion est la photographie. Comment prendre une photo de mon appareil sans que ce soit kitch? Donc j’ai laisser les choses suivre son cours et ai continué ma petite vie. J’ai finalement trouvé ce que j’allais partager avec vous en trier quelques fichiers sur mon ordinateur la semaine passée. J’ai un fichier de généalogie que je n’avais pas touché pendant des années parce que je n’avais plus le bon programme. J’ai acheté une nouvelle copie du programme et ai renoué mes liens avec la généalogie.J’ai commencé à faire de la généalogie quand j’avais plus ou moins 17 ans et été très chanceuse. J’ai pu retracer mon ascendance jusqu’à Charlemagne sur une branche. Cela n’est rien de très special quand on sait que 80% de la population vient de lui mais c’est assez sympa de connaitre la lignée. Maintenant, je me suis attelée à trouver mon arrière arrière… grand-père qui a émigré vers les Etats-Unis en laissant toute sa famille derrière lui. (Tout le monde a compris pourquoi j’ai choisi l’arbre, hein? La photo a été prise à Sunol Regional Park près de San Francisco en juillet 2014).

La photo du mois: Celui qui se perd dans sa passion perd moins que celui qui perd sa passion

Below is a list of my fellow bloggers’ websites:

Voici une liste des sites des autres bloggeurs participant à la photo du mois:

A’icha, Akaieric, Alban, Alexinparis, Arwen, Aude, Autour de Cia, BiGBuGS, Blogoth67, Cara, Carole en Australie, Champagne, Chat bleu, Chloé, Christophe, Cocazzz, Cricriyom from Paris, CécileP, Céline in Paris, Dame Skarlette, DelphineF, Dom-Aufildesvues, Dr. CaSo, El Padawan, Estelle, Eva INside-EXpat, Fanfan Raccoon, François le Niçois, Frédéric, Galéa, Gilsoub, Giselle 43, Guillaume, Homeos-tasie, Iris, Isaquarel, J’habite à Waterford, Josette, Julia, Kenza, KK-huète En Bretannie, Koalisa, Krn, La Fille de l’Air, Lau* des montagnes, Laulinea, Laurent Nicolas, Lavandine, Lavandine83, Lecturissime, Les Bazos en Goguette, Les bonheurs d’Anne & Alex, Les Filles du Web, Loqman, Loulou, Luckasetmoi, Lyonelk, magda627, Mamysoren, Marie, MauriceMonAmour, Milla la galerie, Morgane Byloos Photography, MyLittleRoad, Nanouk, Nicky, Noz & ‘Lo, Philisine Cave, Pilisi, Pixeline, princesse Emalia, ratonreal, Renepaulhenry, Rosa, Rythme Indigo, Sandrine, Sinuaisons, Testinaute, Thalie, Tuxana, Voyager en photo, Xoliv’.

28 thoughts on “La photo du mois: ma passion (in short)

  1. See, I knew you’d manage without doing someting too cliché ;). It’s a great passion, genealogy. I hear in Salt Lake City they are also very fond, and the Mormons have one of the richest genealogy database in the world…
    And I have a uncle who is a genealogy nut (see what I did there?) as well, I’m also part of the 80% 😉

    • 😉 my old boss is a Mormon and his wife volunteers at the family research center at the Mormon temple in Oakland so I’ll be going there to hopefully get a little more info on one guy. Thanks for dropping by!

  2. Belle photo et traitement original du thème ! C’est passionnant la généalogie, un oncle autrefois c’était attaqué à la notre, il est quand même remonté jusqu’en 1590 sans trou ! Bon courage pour la suite 😉

  3. Ah oui, remonter toutes ces vieilles branches! Belle illustration! Moi aussi je le fais de temps à autre, et c’est vrai qu’on finit bien par aboutir à quelques ancêtres communs, tous tant que nous sommes… Effectivement ce sont les histoires personnelles, au delà des noms et des dates, qui sont intéressantes. Bonne recherche!

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

