The Great Egret at the Don Edwards refuge

I apologize in advance for posting bird photos yet again. It seems like I might have caught the bird bug.

I went to the Don Edwards San Francisco Bay National Wildlife Refuge in the South Bay yesterday and saw quite a few birds. Among them was the Great Egret that I had never had the chance to see before. It is very similar to the Snowy Egret, which I saw a bunch of as well, except that it has a full yellow beak, a larger body and black legs and feet.

Who is Don Edwards? Edwards was born in San Jose in 1915 and is a politician of the Democratic Party and former member of the House of Representative from California. The refuge was named in his honor.

12 thoughts on “The Great Egret at the Don Edwards refuge

    • Thank you so much for this very nice comment. I’m still new at this and, yes, it takes a lot of patience. Especially because I don’t have telescopic lens. I work with a 300 mm so I have to be careful not to disturb them. 🙂

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

