La photo entre amis: portraits

La photo entre amis is a small Facebook photo group that a friend and I just started a few months ago. Each one of us gets his/her turn to pick a theme. The theme being treated here is: portraits. If you’d like to participate, please feel free to request to join the group. Just know that you might need to know a little French to understand the basic rules and the few comments as this is a primarily French-speaking group.

If you are familiar with my work, you know that I like taking pictures of people from time to time. I’d even say that people are some of my favorite subjects. So when my friend Sébastien came up with this new theme, I had mixed feelings. I didn’t whether I should have close-ups of people or just photos showing who the people are. I chose the latter because I believe that portraits should give a feel for who people are and what they do. I then decided I’d prepare a series of photographs of men at work (1). The following pictures were taken in various places. Feel free to click on them for more details on when and where they were taken.

(1): This whole series naturally reminded me of Men at Work. Remember that band? Here is “Down Under” so you can remember. And then, COINCIDENCE. They are buying bred from a man in Brussels in the song… WTF!

La photo entre amis: Un petit groupe sur Facebook d’amis se proposant des thèmes à illustrer en photo. Le thème traité ici est: portraits. Si vous voulez vous joindre à nous, rendez-vous ici.

Si vous connaissez un petit peu mon blog, vous savez que j’aime prendre des photos des gens dans la rue. Je dirais que les gens constituent un de mes sujets favoris. Donc quand mon ami Sébastien a proposé ce nouveau thème , je ne savais pas trop quoi penser. Je ne savais si je devais prendre des photos rapprochées ou des photos qui montraent qui sont ces gens et ce qu’ils font. J’ai opté pour cette dernière idée parce que je pense que c’est vraiment un portrait. C’est montrer ce que les gens sont et font. J’ai donc décidé de faire une série sur les hommes au travail (Men at Work)(2). Les photos que vous allez voir ont été prises dans des endroits différents. N’hésitez pas à cliquer sur les photos pour avoir plus d’infos sur les lieux et dates.

(2): Cette série m’a naturellement fait penser à Men at Work. Ca fait tilt? Voici “Down Under” pour vous rafraîchir la mémoire. Et, COINCIDENCE, ils achètent du pain à un homme à Bruxelles dans la chanson.

5 thoughts on “La photo entre amis: portraits

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

