A San Francisco oddity: the Gratitude Tree

It’s only been about a week since I posted the Wishing Tree article, and there I was in San Francisco’s Potrero Hill neighborhood when a tree jumped on me. Ok, no. That’s a really bad story.

The point is. You remember that story about the Wishing Tree? I know there were other tree like that in San Francisco, but I had no idea there was one on the Hill. Anyway. I think the Gratitude Tree is better than the Wishing Tree in one way and worse in another way.

It’s better because it forces us to think more about being thankful and grateful for what we have instead of wishing for things that we don’t have as individuals or as a group of people.

But I also think it’s worse because no one moderates what goes on the tree, and that’s one thing I really liked about the Wishing Tree. Not that I’m in favor of censorship. I’m just in favor of making sure people respect the purpose of those trees.

What do you guys think? Wishing Tree or Gratitude Tree?

P.S.: I wonder if there is a Giving Tree in San Francisco… Bet that one would be pretty popular!

6 thoughts on “A San Francisco oddity: the Gratitude Tree

  1. Hmm…well…I like the Gratitude Tree personally because it makes us appreciate and be thankful for what we have which is a positive thing. Wishing all the time is nice, but being thankful is tangible. But that’s just me. ๐Ÿ™‚ I love the photos and the topic!!

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

