A San Francisco oddity: The Wishing Tree

This will serve as my New Year’s Eve post since I believe New Year resolutions are, for the most part, pointless. Why not make a wish instead?

My wife pointed this tree out to me when we were driving around trying to find the coolest Christmas decorations. Her daughter goes to the school nearby, and I’d never really noticed it until now. But then I just read on their Facebook page that it’s only been a thing since November. That may be the reason why it’d never noticed it. I feel like I should have known about this since there was one in the Mission, but oh well. It’s a pretty cool concept.

The way it works is pretty simple. There are two jars: one with blank card stock and one to put the filled out card stock. Then, the people who organize it, hang it up on the tree. I like that somebody looks over it so it prevents people with bad intentions from ruining the concept.

I read quite a few of the wishes. Some are very personal. Others are very broad. Just beautiful.

It’s not too late for you to make a wish. I made mine. The Wishing Tree will be around until Jan. 2, 2014, according to the Facebook Page. So hurry! Rendez-vous at the corner of Eureka and 24th in Noe Valley.

7 thoughts on “A San Francisco oddity: The Wishing Tree

    • I love California. It’s so diverse. I don’t think anybody could get bored visiting this wonderful state. (And I’m not from here so I feel like I have the right to say that. Haha.) There are great beaches, the desert, the mountains with snow in the winter. It’s just amazing! 🙂

  1. Pingback: A San Francisco oddity: the Gratitude Tree | morgane byloos photography

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

