Mount Lassen: an active volcano

Brace yourself! You are about to see one of my favorite places on earth: Mount Lassen!

I’ve been to this National Park three times, but you’ll only see photos from the past two times. Wanna guess why? I forgot to charge my camera battery before leaving the house, and it ended up running out before we got to the cool stuff… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

Fortunately, I had the chance to visit this amazing place twice more -in 2011 and in 2012. ๐Ÿ˜€ In 2011, we first visited Mount Shasta and then decided to drive farther up to Mount Lassen. In 2012, we went directly to Lassen on our way up to Crater Lake. Both trips were A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!

I remember the very first time I saw Bumpass Hell in 2008. I remember being quite struck by the nasty rotten egg smell before seeing the most incredible fumaroles. When I saw Bumpass Hell, I literally thought I’d landed on the moon or on Mars. Crazy!

I still get really excited when I go there. It’s truly magical!

And by the way, the Manzanita Lake photos taken at dusk really make me think of sound waves. Don’t you think?

13 thoughts on “Mount Lassen: an active volcano

  1. These are some absolutely STUNNING shots! How you do not have more likes on this post is beyond me! Great great work! You really did a phenomenal job with these pictures! Thanks much for sharing!

  2. Enjoyed your photos. I was there a couple of years ago in the middle of summer past the wildflowers and snow. Your pics gave me another perspective on the park that might lure me back.
    I visited Yosemite and Pinnacles last month; these were incredible too. Check out Yosemite at rogerwanderingabout.com.

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

