Weekly photo challenge: community

This is my tenth participation in the Weekly photo challenge. This week’s theme is “community.”

I’ve never really felt like I am part of a community. Technically, you could say that I am part of the French-speaking community of Belgium; or that I belong to the Catholic school community; or even the gay community. But I really don’t feel like I belong. I sometimes don’t even feel like my family makes up a real community for we don’t agree on much and don’t show much tolerance towards one another.

However, I can think of one time when I felt like I might have belonged to a group of people. I moved to San Francisco from Cupertino in 2008 right around the time the passage of Proposition 8 (Nov. 4, 2008) was going to determine the fate of many many people in the LGBTQ community in California. I don’t know that I’d say that I felt like I belong to the LGBTQ community, but I certainly felt like I belonged to the same group of disappointed and pissed off people who were going to see their rights taken away a few months after the protest I took photos of on Nov. 15, 2008 (shown below). Looking at these people during the protest made me realize that I, in fact, had similar issues and beliefs. I wanted the same thing. Except, I needed more than they did (not at the time, though). I also needed the Federal Government to recognize my marriage.

I wasn’t married at the time, and I didn’t have a girlfriend that I knew I wanted to get married to. But now things are a lot different. Since then, things have gone to worst before it got a whole lot better in June 2013 when the US Supreme Court ruled that the US would recognize gay marriage for immigration purposes (when they struck down DOMA) and that each state could choose whether to perform such marriages. In the meantime, I have found the love of my life (back in 2011), and we got married last week. Now, I feel like I belong to the community of married people (maybe…). HAHA!

2 thoughts on “Weekly photo challenge: community

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

