Switzerland part III: The people of Place de la Palud

This is going to be my last post about my recent stay in Switzerland. For those who don’t know, Place de la Palud is located in Lausanne and is the home to 16th century Fountain of Justice as well as well as an old clock. “Behind the fountain of Justice you can see a mechanical clock that was created in 1964 and tells the history of Canton de Vaud (early 18th century). You can see it the mechanical figures go round every 60’ from 9 a.m. to 7 p.m. but only in French.” -Virtual Tourist.

As I was walking around the city, I was hoping to find a spot where I could do one of the things that I like best -take photos of people. And there I was at Place de la Palud right around lunch time. You see people eating, some people walking fast, and some people just taking their time. I’ve done this sort of exercise before at Grand’ Place in Brussels, but Place de la Palud was much more difficult because it is much more confined. Because of that, people notice you more easily and start acting differently or run away. Contrarily to the photos about Grand Place, the people in the following photos are, I think, all local. Anyway. This is what I was able to come back with. Enjoy!

6 thoughts on “Switzerland part III: The people of Place de la Palud

      • You’re braver than I – I like to take the shots but am reticent about approaching for approval – hence I stick mostly to shots that don’t identify the people. But I have some shots I really like that are up front and personal and feel unable to share them. My fault.

        • You know, you could share them. Most people won’t go after you. 1) They’d have to recognize themselves. 2) They’d have to feel bad about having been photographed and published. 3)They’d have to care enough to cause you trouble 4)If they in fact don’t like it, just take it down. That’s how I see things. As a journalist, I feel like the streets are public. Therefore, what you do on the street isn’t private. I’m not saying that, for the sake of art/photography, we should blatantly bother people. I’m just saying that most of what people do is actually not wrong and won’t impact their lives -and therefore could be published. I don’t know if that helps.

    • Glad I could help. Most people won’t give you trouble if you take the photo down if they ask to. 😉 I’ve never had to do it though. For journalism stuff, I’m a lot more careful though because it’s attached to a publication.

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

