Basilica of Koekelberg (part I): the outside by day

Here is a building I’ve seen my whole life. It’s such an emblem in Brussels, and yet I find it so ugly. No offense but I really don’t like it -at all. However, I see it differently now that I’ve spent so many hours around it, inside of it… during the day…and at night. Having lived in San Francisco, it just reminds me everyday that some art deco can be beautiful (like the Golden Gate Bridge), and some can be just awful (like the National Basilica of the Sacred Heart in Koekelberg). Nevertheless, I’ve heard and read that this wonderful piece of architecture 😉 is the biggest building built in art deco style. The only thing that’s missing in my little photo report are pictures taken from the top of the monument. No worries, I might still do that one day…soon.

2 thoughts on “Basilica of Koekelberg (part I): the outside by day

  1. Pingback: Basilica of Koekelberg (part I): the inside | morgane byloos photography

  2. Pingback: Basilica of Koekelberg (part III): the outside by night | morgane byloos photography

Like these? Hate these? What's your thought on this? LET ME KNOW!

